Home Argentina community A partial solar eclipse is occurring soon. Here’s Who Can See It – WABE

A partial solar eclipse is occurring soon. Here’s Who Can See It – WABE

0

If you own a pair of eclipse glasses, you might be lucky enough to use them on Saturday.

On April 30, a partial solar eclipse will be visible in South America, Antarctica, and the Pacific and Southern Oceans, according to NASA.

A solar eclipse occurs when the moon passes between Earth and the sun, temporarily blocking sunlight. During a partial solar eclipse, the moon is not perfectly aligned with the Earth and the sun, so it will not completely cover the sun. Instead, the sun will appear to have a crescent shape, NASA said.

Here’s how to see the eclipse and what you might see:

How to see the eclipse

The solar eclipse will be mainly visible in the southern hemisphere.

The people of “Chile, Argentina, most of Uruguay, western Paraguay, southwestern Bolivia, southeastern Peru, and a small part of south- western Brazil” will have the best chance of seeing it, according to NASA.

It will first be visible at 2:45 p.m. ET (6:45 p.m. Coordinated Universal Time) and will peak at 4:42 p.m. ET (8:42 p.m. UTC).

To view the eclipse safely, you need a special pair of eclipse viewing glasses or solar viewing glasses. Sunglasses don’t count. And never look directly at the sun during an eclipse.

If you don’t have the right glasses, you can create a mini projector to reflect the eclipse image onto a flat surface.

The next eclipse that will be visible in North America will be on October 14, 2023. It will be an annular eclipse, which occurs when the moon is further from the sun and therefore does not completely cover it. The distance gives the illusion of a “ring of fire” around the moon.

Copyright 2022 NPR. To learn more, visit https://www.npr.org.