Home Argentina national EU tightens rules for Australian travelers

EU tightens rules for Australian travelers


The European Union is to tighten COVID-19 travel rules for unvaccinated arrivals from Australia, Argentina and Canada due to rising case numbers.

The 27 EU member states reached an agreement on Monday to remove the trio from a list of countries where easier travel restrictions apply regardless of vaccination status, a Council of Europe press release said. EU.

Australia, Argentina and Canada are no longer among the approved ranks for freer travel, including Bahrain, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.

China is also included in this list subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Travelers fully vaccinated with vaccines authorized by the European Medicines Agency should be able to enter the EU for any purpose.

EU citizens arriving from Australia, Argentina and Canada are exempt along with their family members and long-term residents of the bloc. Health and transport personnel are also exempt.

When COVID-19 first hit Europe, all EU states except Ireland, as well as non-EU states Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland, have agreed to a sweeping entry ban on non-essential travel.

EU member states then drew up a so-called ‘green list’ of countries outside the bloc where arrivals were allowed to enter.

The Council of the EU, representing the 27 member states, updates the list every two weeks depending on the COVID-19 situation in each country.

However, national governments still retain the final say on who can enter their territory.